California's no-fault workers' compensation plan was passed by the State legislature almost a century ago to guarantee prompt, automatic benefits to employees who sustain on-the-job injuries or illnesses. Almost every employee in California is protected by workers' compensation. The State of California supervises both the amount of benefits available under workers' compensation and the distribution of all payments.
The North Orange County Community College District is self-funded for workers' compensation liability, meaning that the cost of medical care and any other compensation is funded by the District budget. A third-party administrator is hired to handle workers' compensation claims to ensure that all workers' compensation benefits are paid to injured employees in accordance with state regulations. This direct system is more cost effective than purchasing commercial insurance, and still allows the District to monitor claims and help individuals settle their claims quickly and efficiently.
There are multiple medical facilities designated for care, as well as the Employer Provider Network. Please click on the links below for detailed information and instructions.
IMPORTANT TIMELINE TO FOLLOW
An employee must report any work-related injury as soon as feasible to his/her manger, no matter how minor the incident and regardless of whether or not medical care is necessary at the time. If the manager is not available, follow the department and/or campus communication protocol to report the injury (i.e. contact the Office Manager, Campus Safety, etc.)
Managers must provide immediate medical care, if necessary, and a claim packet to the injured employee within 24 hours of notice of injury. For injuries that occur offsite or during the weekend, send the documents to the injured employee via e-mail.
Note: Providing the workers' compensation claim form is an employer's obligation, but filing a claim is not a requirement for the injured employee. It is a benefit available to all employees.
Regardless of whether or not the injured employee requires medical care or files a claim, both the manager and the employee must complete their respective reports within 72 hours and send both reports to the Risk Management office.
Workers' Compensation Training