APPROVED

MINUTES OF THE SPECIAL MEETING OF THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES OF THE NORTH ORANGE COUNTY COMMUNITY COLLEGE DISTRICT

November 4, 2021

The Board of Trustees of the North Orange County Community College District met for its Special Meeting on Thursday, November 4, 2021, at 8:50 a.m. in the Cypress College Theater.

Board President Barbara Dunsheath called the meeting to order at 8:56 a.m. and led the Pledge of Allegiance to the Flag.

TRUSTEE ROLL CALL: <u>Present</u>: Stephen T. Blount, Jeffrey P. Brown, Barbara Dunsheath, Jacqueline Rodarte, Evangelina Rosales, and Student Trustees Meena Pandian and Erin Lacorte. <u>Absent</u>: Ryan Bent and Ed Lopez.

RESOURCE PERSONNEL PRESENT: Fred Williams, Interim Chancellor; Kashu Vyas, Vice Chancellor, District Director, Fiscal Affairs; Irma Ramos, Vice Chancellor, Human Resources; Cherry Li-Bugg, Vice Chancellor, Educational Services & Technology; JoAnna Schilling, Cypress College President; Gil Contreras, Interim Fullerton College President; Valentina Purtell, North Orange Continuing Education President; Kai Stearns, District Director, Public & Governmental Affairs; Ty Volcy, representing the District Management Association; Kim Orlijan, representing the Fullerton College Faculty Senate; Christie Diep, representing United Faculty; Dashiel Johnson, representing Adjunct Faculty United; and Alba Recinos, Recording Secretary.

OTHER ADMINISTRATORS AND EMPLOYEES PRESENT: Stephanie Acosta, Guadalupe Bautista, Ashley Berry, Kelly Carter, Julio Davila, Temperance Dowdle, Lisa Gaetje, Alaa Halwani, Angela Haugh, Henry Hua, Marbelly Jairam, Chrystal Johnson, Cari Jorgenson, Marcia Kagawa, Jenny Lee, Kisha Meta, David Okawa, Celeste Phelps, Alex Porter, Marc Posner, Elizabeth Putman, AnnMarie Ruelas, Joseph Shonkweiler, Aidin Tehrani, Jeanne Thompson, David Vakil, and Barbara Woolner from Cypress College; Naomi Abesamis, Nick Arman, Cecilia Arriza, Josh Ashenmiller, Ki-Hong Bae, Jodi Balma, Azin Biatani, Leonor Cadena, Elisa Cirrito, Alicia Contreras, LeS-Sie' Crockrom, Jeanne Costello, Archie Delshad, Sonia Duran, Deniz Fierro, Jean Foster, Monica Hagmaier, Nitztya Hamblet, Heather Halverson, Rabia Kahn, Sharon Kelly, Jennifer LaBounty, Larry Lara, Elaine Lipiz-Gonzalez, Rena Martinez-Stluka, Lisa McPheron, Jennifer Merchant, Jose Ramon Nunez, Christi O'Daniel, Ryan Osborn, Denise Parra, Mark Pavlovich, Stephanie Rodriguez, Eddie Roth, Ken Starkman, and Dana Timmermans from Fullerton College; Miranda Bates, Raine Hambly, Jayzelle Mata, Jennifer Perez, Deb Perkins, Kim Tang, and Stacy Webb from North Orange Continuing Education; and Beatrice Bates, Simone Brown Thunder, Danielle Davy, Rosanne Gerardo, Geoff Hurst, Julie Kossick, Chelsea Salisbury, Pamela Spence, Amita Suhrid, and Leslie Tsubaki from the District Office.

VISITORS: John Ayala.

OPEN FORUM: Beginning at 9:00 a.m., the following three finalists for the position of Chancellor took 45 minutes each to conduct a question and answer session: Dr. Jack Kahn, Dr. Byron Breland, and Dr. Chris Villa.

RECESS: At 11:45 a.m., the meeting was recessed to 1:20 p.m. to the Fullerton College, College Center Rooms 224-228 at 321 Each Chapman Avenue, Fullerton, 92832.

RECONVENE MEETING: At 1:20 p.m., Board President Barbara Dunsheath reconvened the meeting and beginning at 1:30 p.m. the following three finalists for the position of Chancellor took 45 minutes each to conduct a question and answer session: Dr. Jack Kahn, Dr. Byron Breland, and Dr. Chris Villa.

ADJOURNMENT: At 4:15 p.m., it was moved by Trustee Jacqueline Rodarte and seconded by Trustee Jeffrey P. Brown to adjourn the meeting. **Motion carried with Trustees Brown, Dunsheath, Rodarte, and Rosales voting yes.**

Prepared By Recording Secretary for Ed Lopez, Secretary, Board of Trustees