APPROVED

MINUTES OF THE SPECIAL MEETING OF THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES OF THE NORTH ORANGE COUNTY COMMUNITY COLLEGE DISTRICT

May 12, 2015

The Board of Trustees of the North Orange County Community College District met for its Special Meeting on Tuesday, May 12, 2015, at 10:25 a.m. in the Cypress College Fine Arts Recital Hall Room 304.

Board Secretary Molly McClanahan called the meeting to order at 10:25 a.m. and led the Pledge of Allegiance to the Flag.

TRUSTEE ROLL CALL: <u>Present</u>: Jeffrey P. Brown, Leonard Lahtinen, Molly McClanahan, and Donna Miller. Trustees Barbara Dunsheath and Jacqueline Rodarte arrived at 2:55 p.m. <u>Absent</u>: M. Tony Ontiveros,

RESOURCE PERSONNEL PRESENT: Fred Williams, Interim Chancellor; CM Brahmbhatt, Interim Vice Chancellor, Finance & Facilities; Cherry Li-Bugg, Vice Chancellor, Educational Services & Technology; Irma Ramos, Vice Chancellor, Human Resources; Rajen Vurdien, President, Fullerton College; Bob Simpson, President, Cypress College; Greg Schulz, Provost, School of Continuing Education; Deborah Ludford, District Director, Information Services; Richard Fee, representing the District Management Association; Adam Gottdank, representing the School of Continuing Education Academic Senate; Jolena Grande, representing the Cypress College Academic Senate; Sam Foster, representing Fullerton College Faculty Senate; Dale Craig, representing United Faculty; Dawnmarie Neate, representing CSEA; Sam Russo, representing ADFAC; and Violet Ayon, Recording Secretary.

OTHER ADMINISTRATORS AND EMPLOYEES PRESENT: Albert Abutin, Darin Acierno, Erika Adakai, Cecilia Arriaga, Josh Ashenmiller, Carlos Ayon, Jodi Balma, Jan Chadwick, Terry Cox, Lori Cronin, Pilar Ellis, Cyndi Grein, David Grossman, Co Ho, Melissa Hunt, Bob Jenkins, Jana Jenkins, Sharon Kelly, Rena Martinez Stluka, Linda Millikan, Amy Mills, Deb Perkins, Regina Perry, Beverly Pipkin, Steve Selby, Richard Storti, Melinda Taylor, Corinne Thomas, David Thomas, Lori Triefenbach, Vincent White, and Renee Young from Fullerton College; Santanu Bandophadyay, Deann Burch, Joyce Carrigan, Christie Diep, Dao Do, Steve Donley, Temperence Doudle, Darlene Fishman, Ashley Griffith, Marsha Jeffries, Karen Joy, Marc Posner, Gail Smead, Shirley Smith, Chelsea Thong, Ty Volcy, Ronda Wahbe, Dave Wassenaar, Christopher West, and Eldon Young from Cypress College; Norma Alvarado, Jesse Crete, Danielle Davy, Jorge Gamboa, Vivian Grang, Martha Gutierrez, Vaniethia Hubbard, Linda Langgle, Lorenze Legaspi, Luis Madrid, Diane Mendoza, Cathryn Neisweinder, Olivia Sanchez-Silva, Stephanie Paramore, Jennifer Perez, Chelsea Salisbury, Dennis Sauers, and Julie Schoepf from the School of Continuing Education;

Allan Abutin, Pat Armijo, Terry Chambers, Sandy Cotter, Victoria Deemer, Karla Garcia, Beverly Heasley, Danielle Heinbuch, Adam Howard, Annalisa Iglesias, Vickie McPherson, Tyler Noland, Tami Oh, Beth Stokes, Melissa Utsuki, Kashu Vyas, and Rick Williams from the District Offices.

VISITORS: Vanessa Aceves, John Ayala, Luciana Barrueto, Kenny Berganza, Khea Cac, Charles Dixon, Gnoc Do, Aimee Garcia, David Gonzales, Hadiyah Feshat, Julian Javate, Usa Kanazaue, Gabrielle Manaloto, Araceli Medrano, Lucas Nguyen, and Juliana Orozco.

OPEN FORUM: Beginning at 10:30 a.m., the following two finalists for the position of Chancellor took one hour each to conduct a question and answer session: Monte Perez, and Andrew Jones.

RECESS: At 12:15 p.m., the meeting was recessed to 3:00 p.m. at Fullerton College, College Center Rooms 224-228.

RECONVENE MEETING: At 2:55 p.m., Vice President Barbara Dunsheath reconvened the meeting and beginning at 3:00 p.m. the two finalists for the position of Chancellor took one hour each to conduct a question and answer session: Monte Perez, and Andrew Jones.

ADJOURN: At 5:00 p.m., it was moved by Trustee Molly McClanahan and seconded by Trustee Donna Miller to adjourn the Special Board Meeting. **Motion carried with Trustees Brown, Dunsheath, Lahtinen, McClanahan, Miller, and Rodarte voting ves.**

Prepared By Recording Secretary for Molly McClanahan, Secretary, Board of Trustees